AKA President And Vice-President Resign

September 7 2011 – AKA Statement:

The Australian Karting Association wishes to advise its members of the resignation of National President Simon Whiting and National Vice-President David Murray.

Whiting held the position of National President from August 2010.

Prior to this position, he held the National Vice-President role and was also an Executive Member for Karting (New South Wales) Inc. for a number of years.

During his time in the National President and Vice-President roles, Whiting was instrumental in providing the sport with strong leadership and guidance, along with stability when looking at future direction.

He led the Association to a significant change in the constitution earlier this year and assisted with developing a closer relationship between the Australian Karting Association and the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport.

Murray held the position of National Vice-President from August 2010, prior to which he was the Victorian State Delegate on the National Karting Council for a period of ten years.

The National President and National Vice-President positions will now be filled as casual vacancies until the 2012 Annual General Meeting and announcements on the replacement officers will be made in due course.